The 20 Something Diary

Dominique Simpson
7 min readDec 12, 2020

Entry 1: Life is hard

“Good luck on them 20 somethings, God bless these 20 somethings. Hopin’ my 20 somethings won’t end. Hopin’ to keep the rest of my friends. Prayin’ the 20 somethings don’t kill me, don’t kill me.”- Solana Imani Rowe

Photo by Sebastián León Prado on Unsplash

I’m going to go ahead and just state the obvious — life is hard as fuck. Especially right now during this uncertain, unprecedented, cataclysmic time we’re living in.

Allow me a moment to vent. I’m 25 years young and I still hear “you’re just a baby”, far more often than I’d like to. I’m not a baby, and referring to me as such is not complimentary. Actually, it’s quite insulting. Babies don’t have a single care in the world. As they shouldn’t, they’re babies what the hell do they know? Their job is to eat, sleep and poop. Myself in contrast, has to care about everything! EV-ER-Y-THING. I’m an adult, regardless of what some may feel about my age I am a fully grown adult. Technically speaking anyone 18 years or older is an adult, but I’m more understanding of an 18 year old’s inconsistencies with adulthood than someone 21 years or older. Whatever the case, it’s dismissive to disregard someone’s concerns or responsibilities based on their age especially when citing that they’re “just a baby”. Let’s leave that shit in 2020.

--

--

Dominique Simpson

The hermit scribe, a witty womanist. Essayist, poet, and black literature enthusiast. Unequivocally and unapologetically black.